Allen West “I don’t look to a man to get pride in myself”

aw

“I am a black male who grew up in the inner city of Atlanta and no one ever followed me in a mall. I don’t recall any doors clicking when I crossed the street. And I never had anyone clutching their handbag when I got on an elevator. I guess having two awesome parents who taught me to be a respectful young man paid dividends.” – Allen West (As quoted in the Palm Beach Post )

 

quote-for-far-too-long-we-ve-allowed-the-other-side-to-paint-us-as-racist-as-sexist-inhumane-war-allen-west-196018

“I don’t look to a man to get pride in myself. It’s not about having a black president, it’s about having a good president, and I think that’s the most important thing.” – Allen West

AW20

“A person like myself, born and raised in the inner city of Atlanta, Georgia, to lower-middle-class parents. But I had the opportunity to get an education, to go and earn a commission in the United States Army, to serve for 22 years, to lead men and women in combat.” – Allen West

17 responses to “Allen West “I don’t look to a man to get pride in myself”

  1. Florida lost a grea man but he can do more this way.. And he does and I make sure I always read that he puts in print..

  2. Perhaps none of those things happened to you, sir, because you just didn’t have that “choom gang” look about you. My deepest respect, always.

    • I work with some very respectable black younger men. When Obama was going through that littany of humiliations young black men suffer daily at the hands of white people looking to make excuses to keep them down I was thinking where is this happening? Where are these white people who spend their time thinking about how to keep young black men from succeeding? In this economy? Most of us are just trying to keep our heads above water until we have a meaningful change in policy and administration and come out of this economic blight.

  3. Thank you for your voice of wisdom and leadership; please keep pressing on. We need your bravery, courage and leadership. And thank you to your wonderful parents!!

    • Gratitude is always a plus. Did you notice when Obama was going through his diatribe about how he experienced all these terrible things at the hands of racist whites the way all young black men do, he neglected to mention he’d also been elected twice to the Presidency of the United States?

  4. Allen West, perhaps you weren’t paying attention when you walked through the mall, or crossed the street, or got in that elevator. I was raised just as well as you, only in the suburbs, and I saw ALL that. Not constantly. Not even often. But it was there.

  5. I’m a White guy who grew up in the Midwest… and doors locked when I approached cars and I WAS followed in malls. Nobody owns these experiences. People have a right to feel safe, as well as protect their stuff. This is about power and power alone. That’s the “honest” discussion we need to have about race in America. And after we’ve had that discussion, which should take about 30 seconds, when need to get back to the INDIVIDUAL freedom and liberty our Founding Documents were created to protect. It’s time to defend the greatest minority on earth… the individual.

  6. I hope I see the day you run for the Oval Office, I would be honored to vote for you and call you Mr. President.

  7. Col. West,

    I admire you greatly. You are a true American. I would be honored to have you in my home, and proud to have you as my President. Keep speaking the truth, and speak it as loud as you can. I pray America will listen.

  8. I have always admired you. Men of integrity and morals don’t need an specific color to gain the hearts of their fellow men.

  9. Very nice response. I saw you on Hannity tonight – the Voice of Reason – something we all like to hear. And, that is the great thing about telling the Truth, it is noticed and heard. You’ve reached a lot of folks …. well, both of us have. I haven’t had my race relations speech with Barry, but it is coming. I have communicated to Reverend Al Sharpton – it was not about the Zimmerman case, it was about respect, creating a divide, and particularly about what to do with some of our black youth, violence, and families. Again, I have recommended that a private organization get seriously involved. My black doctor told me that the reason for this was the absence of a Father figure which goes all the way back before the Civil War when families were split up and some of them sold. Black males often had to leave their families behind which created a strong, black female, but one without a spouse, and children without a Father. So, we need to address this – whatever it takes. If it takes therapy, counseling, reuniting children with their parents, working to make both parents responsible for the upbringing of their children. We need to keep young, black youth out of the jails and offer a different alternative – like working as a volunteer. All parents need to understand, black, white, purple or pink, that they are basically responsible for only 2 things – making sure the child gets Christ training and making sure the parents are preparing them for adulthood – like the importance of an honest dollar for an honest day’s labor – be it Burger King or President. There is honor in all work. The communities need to get involved and allow youngsters to follow some people around – like firemen, policemen, mechanics, doctors, etc. After that, it is up to the child to make his or her way. But, Zimmerman should not be an issue. Families should be. You know the President could have done so much good with this … but he did not, therefore I must assume that all his race speeches were designed for political benefit and that is what I am going to be talking to him about. There are some that would say I was disrespectful for calling him “Barry.” That is the name his Mother gave him and he glories himself so much that he could use a little of humility. In all of his political problems, it didn’t really matter if what he did was right or wrong, it does however matter if you try to sweep it under the rug. We all can understand mistakes, we don’t understand trying to hide them. Just own up to them – easy. Then, and only then, will the problems go away. What can anybody say if somebody says, “well I called it wrong.” Nothing, and at that time it may make the news, but it will go away. Otherwise, it will not. Kind of like Benghazi – as long as the Special Forces and Seals were involved, they will not let him forget. They will be like a sore that continues to fester. But, it is his problem and he needs to deal with it, but, he won’t, so it will be unveiled by somebody and then again, he will have to deal with it. You know, we have a president that is just not too bright. He can tell a funny story, but he can’t lead a Nation. He should have gone into late night. Incidently, I am getting some international attention. I am afraid that my business is on the cusp of “booming” – as soon as I start offering my goods to the international market. You are doing great – so many people are interested in you in politics. I am not surprised. And, although I probably don’t have to say it, God Bless You.

  10. Dear Col. West,
    Now is the time, for a great leader like yourself, to convene a meeting of leading black conservatives to address race relations in America. President Obama and the liberal race mongers are doing potentially irreparable damage. Thomas Sowell, Larry Elder, Clarance Thomas, Colin Powell, yourself and even Don Lemon should meet in a public way that the mainstream media can’t ignore. The meeting of the liberal victacrats did nothing but whine and blame. We are desperate for leadership. What can I do to help?