Allen West “What do the next generation of young adults expect from their government and culture?”

NextGenSmall

Col. Allen West talks to pollster Scott Rasmussen about the Millennial generation. Media, politics and personal interaction are dramatically different for Millennials than for past generations. What do the next generation of young adults expect from their government and culture? Find out.

CLICK HERE TO WATCH THE INTERVIEW ON NEXT GENERATION TV via PJTV

Millennial Values: The Next Generation Cares About Education and Fairness

One response to “Allen West “What do the next generation of young adults expect from their government and culture?”

  1. You should know that I have a story about this. The year was 1970 and it was the first year or mandatory integration. It was the year we moved from Minnesota to Mississippi – probably the worst year for that kind of move. The doctor’s offices and the washrooms were all segregated. Blacks were marching in protest against the local stores. It was my first year of High School. As soon as I opened my mouth and they heard that Yankee accent, my future there was sealed. They had assumed that my family was part of the Federal Folks that were there to change things. They were not – my Dad got hired by a nearby University to teach Computer Programs. When bomb threats were called in by somebody in Boston, I would land in the principal’s office. I would have never done that. I was also like a “poison” in that no White people could be friends with me, nor Black people either. I could not understand any of them with that Southern drawl. Fact is, my very first day of High School, I ended up in the principal’s office because I did not address my teacher as “M’am.” I had no idea what she wanted from me. I got seriously black-balled so to speak. I was told I would never graduate college – and they just about succeeded in doing that. Myself and others – mostly Black, were given a “special” ACT entrance test. I failed it miserably – could not even understand the words written. Well, my parents blew their cool – they knew there was no way that I could have failed an entrance test. I did well in school. At any rate, I retook the test and tripled my score and had no problem getting into college. I skipped a year of high school as I was quite miserable – took a couple of summer classes and got out of there a year early. They also forced me to take Mississippi History test which I had to do as a “correspondence class.” Now, if my parents had not ranted and raved, I may not have graduated college. There were no proms, no graduaton parties, etc – they were afraid that some Black people might dance with some White people, etc. Not long after I moved to the area, I was told in no uncertain terms that I would not support the Black cause because we would end up with a cross burning in the yard. And yes, that did happen too, but not to us. I was to chose my words “very carefully.” So, I can relate to prejudice and racism. Those 2 years are a couple of the worst ones of my life. And, it didn’t end there. My youngest brother was also harmed as they had to change the curriculum to ensure that most of the Black people could pass. Many, at that time, did not have the opportunities that we did and the Black Schools failed their students or maybe, the teacher’s themselves had problems. I don’t know.

    I, too, share your concern about our young Black men. I asked my doctor about it and she told me that it was the result of absentee Fathers. That during the slavery period, families were split up, and Fathers were removed from the households leaving behind a strong, Black woman with no partner. It seems to me, we need to get those Father’s back into the family homes. How do we do that? The only things that might help would be the churches, mentors and good examples. We probably are having more problems with race under the current administration in Washington than we ever did when Martin Luther King was alive. You and I have both heard some terrible things from the Democratic Caucus and a few in Washington too. Lord knows we need a different President. Colonel West – if there is something that I can do to assist in your efforts, I am here for you. I may be able to target some products for the Black population – that I can do. We really got to bring this Country together up under God. I will do some research. And, if you know of some products that would be good for me to carry, I am all ears. I also have quite a few Black Veterans that are friends of mine on Facebook – I will ask them as well. If you think of something else, let me know. I may be needing assistance with webpage creation and I will be looking for a young person with a background in computer ecommerce sites as I have been developing another and it can probably be done almost entirely online. It may be a few months, but, I expect that I will need help. You are absolutely right in saying that this next Black generation needs guidance from all of us. We’ll be in touch.