Congressman Allen West On His Future

6711696111_60039e7310

By CHARLES MAHTESIAN | 12/1/12

Florida Rep. and Tea Party favorite Allen West, who recently lost re-election to Democratic challenger Patrick Murphy, appeared on National Public Radio Friday.  Far from despondent, West spoke of Washington politics and his future role with his characteristic assertive, yet calm, tone.

Politico relates the interview’s significant conclusion:

MARTIN: So what’s next for you?

WEST: Look, you know, God closes a door so that he can open up greater doors. I will continue to, you know, stand up and fight for this country. That’s my goal. I have two daughters, 19 and 16, and I want to make sure that they grow up in a great America that provides them all the opportunities that it provided to their mother and father.

MARTIN: Congressman Allen West is completing his term in Congress. He was kind enough to join us from a House recording studio on Capitol Hill here in Washington, D.C.

WEST: And always remember, Abraham Lincoln only served one term in Congress, too.

MARTIN: Duly noted. Congressman West, thank you so much for speaking with us.

Many commenters are interpreting West’s closing remarks as a hint that he may consider running for president some day.  Perhaps, though, he only meant to say that one can still be a pivotal figure, even if they only serve one term in Congress.

Time will tell.

6 responses to “Congressman Allen West On His Future

  1. Mr. West, You must run for President! Your loyal constituent, Kristine Ziegler in Port St. Lucie

    Sent from my iPad Kris

  2. Col. West, I wish I were your constituent. Hopefully, someday I shall be. Best wishes to you and your family. Doug B., Knoxville, TN

  3. If I had a Congressman of my choosing, he would be of Mr. West’s Conservative beliefs and Mr. West’s character. Alas, for now I should count myself lucky to have a “moderate”, invisible Republican representative, rather than a full-blown Liberal Democrat.

  4. Col. West, The first time I heard you speak, I knew that you were Presidential material, and I called your office to ask you to run. I’ll be looking for you on the next ballot (any chance of honest elections by then?)