Rep Allen West – Op-Ed “Critical time for ideological debate” – The Hill

By Rep. Allen West (R-Fla.)– 04/24/12 06:03 PM ET

Much has been made of my recent response to a question from a constituent and assertion regarding so-called “communists” in the Congressional Progressive Caucus. I am pleased it has inspired so much passionate debate, for that was precisely the point.

When I was studying for my two master’s degrees in political science at Kansas State University and at the U.S. Army Command and General Staff Officer College, the very best professors were those who would begin each lecture with a challenging assertion. It engaged discussion and analysis, and was the best way to uncover the essence of the particular subject of the day.

As Americans, we must bring to the fore this fundamental discussion of what we want our country to be. Do we veer from our Founders’ vision of a constitutional republic that preserves and protects the individual sovereignty of its citizens, along with the free market and the rights of the several states, or do we continue to slide down this path of expanding the secular welfare state, nationalizing production and enforcing economic equality?

My colleagues in the Congressional Progressive Caucus have taken umbrage with my equation of their ideals with those of communists. Why? Why shouldn’t we have this discussion? What part of their agenda are they trying to hide?

We must be able to openly discuss how our fundamental freedoms are being slowly chipped away by an over-reaching nanny state that has bit by bit slipped its tentacles into every aspect of our lives, from the types of light bulbs we can use to the size of our toilet tanks.

COMPLETE THE REST OF THE ARTICLE BY CLICKING HERE: THE HILL

4 responses to “Rep Allen West – Op-Ed “Critical time for ideological debate” – The Hill

  1. NO, we do NOT veer from the legacy the Founding Fathers left us. What they left was, basically, a common sense government in order to have a Free Nation. They had already experienced what a “bad” government looks like and what it does to her citizens.

    I have always had a “rule of thumb” when discussing a serious subject when it involves changing what works vs. what does not work…..
    WHAT IS THEIR “INTENT” behind their discussions?
    Selfish? What do they gain by the change?
    What happens to others, in the U.S. Citizen Family IF there is a change?
    And, if allowed to make the change, what does that change due “FOR” them vs.
    What does it do or undo for “Citizens”?

    With government pressure to “rule over every aspect of our lives” from their thrones, they have almost evil intents against the U.S. Citizen with no perception, understanding of what that does to John Q. Public; OR…do they just not care? I think I just answered my own question….NO,they do NOT care.

    IF they did, they wouldn’t continue to destroy our Freedoms day after day after day
    forcing the public to accept living under “domination” rather than freedom.
    Right now? Washington has become Tyrants over U.S. Citizens.

    I researched it a few days ago…The United States is not 47th in the world on the Freedom Index. That is tragic.

  2. Stand strong COL. West. Never give up and never give in. Please do not back down from your stance against the evil progressive platform and what is really behind it. We need the voice of reason like never before in this Nation. LIBERTY!

    • I know it takes a great deal of money to run for President. That IS something that needs to be addressed.
      However, Dizo…, I sincerely believe that if West gets with Newt Gingrich… they WILL WIN!
      I believe that with all my heart and knowledge of what is going on in Our Country now. WE need a VERY strong TEAM as President and VP. OR? We will continue down hill until Romney and/or Obama continue moving us forward to the NWO and/or a Country run by Muslims.

  3. I am trying to get this onto every site. I received a poll a couple of days ago. You know, you’ve seen them.

    There are photo(s) of each candidate. However, with this one, there is ONLY a photo of Romney in the photo section as “the PRESIDENT.” It leaves YOU to decide who is VP. It would allow me to drag “West” to VP or “Gingrich” but NOT AS PRESIDENT.

    Well, before I realized that I HAD to choose ONLY Romney…his photo wouldn’t move!
    In other words, they are “choosing FOR US.” It is none of my business it you do like Romney for President — My point is THEY DO NOT CHOOSE FOR US.
    When I got the email, I hit “return” and typed this in the subject line:

    DO NOT CHOOSE ROMNEY FOR US and hit “send”. They did receive MY email.
    It didn’t bounce back as “un-deliverable”; it wasn’t in my spam.
    Now the email address doesn’t work!!!

    On two websites I came up with an idea.
    This is the address of the poll to go vote (and I don’t care who you put in as “your” choice for VP…that is up to you.

    However, the important part is in the comments section in the upper right hand corner….

    type these words “STOP SHOVING ROMNEY DOWN OUR THROATS.”
    He has already been chosen by the Powers that be.

    PLEASE DO THIS:
    This is the address for the “Dream Team:
    http://www.2012dreamticket.com